Tribal Tracks: New Releases // 006

Articles, New releases // Sun 16 May 2021 - 21:10pm

In this edition of Tribal Tracks: New Releases, we’ve got a diverse mix of house and techno tracks, topped off with another unmissable SHY FX and Breakage collaboration.

The Chemical Brothers  ‘The Darkness That You Fear’

First up this week is the latest single, The Darkness That You Fear from dance pioneers The Chemical Brothers. This is their first release since their 2019 album, No Geography. It is an optimistic sounding track, featuring a combination of different voices to make the track flow. 

Honey Dijon ‘Downtown (feat. Annette Bowen, Nikki-O)’

Honey Dijon’s latest single is the third to be released from her sophomore album “Black Girl Magic”. Downtown is a sultry house track which features vocals from London soul vocalist Annette Bowen and Moodymann collaborator Nikki-O. The single also includes remixes from Louis Vega. 

Gorgon City ‘Tell Me It’s True’

House masters Gorgon City return with their latest four-track single, Tell me It’s True from their upcoming album Olympia, which also includes You’ve Done Enough and Nobody (feat. DRAMA), and Burning (feat. Evan Giia). The titular track, Tell Me It’s True, features a solid bassline and light, uplifting vocals. 

Darius Syrossian ‘La Tribu EP’

The latest release from Mancunian house DJ Darius Syrossian is his EP, La Tribu, released on Ben Rau’s META label. Consisting of two tracks, La Tribu and and Dream Thief, the EP emits the signature Syrossian house sound and is full of infectious groove. 

Shy FX & Breakage ‘Darker Than Blue EP’

Shy FX has returned with his latest collaborative EP with Breakage, Darker Than Blue. The EP shall commence the revival of his label, Digital Soundboy, which first established in 2005 and saw releases by the likes of Skream & Benga, Redlight and DJ Fresh. Darker Than Blue is made up of six tracks including the single Michael Knight, taking inspiration from the hit 80’s TV show Knight Rider.

Words by Ruth Casey